ECU Pirates :: Athletics News
ECU Student-Athletes Earn C-USA Academic Medal

ECU had 48 student-athletes earn C-USA Academic Medal honors
ECU had 48 student-athletes earn C-USA Academic Medal honors

April 12, 2013

GREENVILLE, N.C. - Nearly 50 East Carolina student-athletes have earned the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal for their efforts in the classroom during the 2012-13 academic year Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced today. The medals are given to those C-USA student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.75 or higher.

The women's swimming and diving team had 10 student-athletes earn a medal, while the women's cross country team had eight student-athletes on the roster achieve honors. Both the football and women's soccer team had five representatives, while the women's track & field squad had four recipients.

A total of 547 student-athletes who compete in Conference USA were medal recipients. For the third year in a row Tulsa had the most academic medal winners with 70. Memphis placed 54 on the list, followed by ECU and UCF with 48 each.

The following is a complete list of the Pirates' medal winners:

Baseball (2)
Joshua Lovick
Nick Thompson

Women's Basketball (3)
Britny Edwards
Whitny Edwards
Colleen Marshall

Women's Cross Country (8)
Michelle Bailey
Stephanie Fresenius
Chelsea Hollingsworth
Kelley Miko
Bjork Olsen
Jessica Rossabi
Amanda Tomlin
Shewit Weldense

Football (4)
Darian Harris
Warren Harvey
Matt Milner
Trent Tignor

Men's Golf (1)
Eric Brady

Women's Golf (3)
Faith Hardison
Katie Kirk
Fanny Wolte

Women's Soccer (5)
Jenny Betz
Caty Butler
Rachel Fuller
Hali Oughton
Haley Patsey

Softball (3)
Casey Alcorn
Jill Jelnick
Cicely Lopez

Men's Swimming (1)
Daniel Woods

Women's Swimming (10)
Lauren Chew
Taylor Edwards
Delaney Fox
Anna Gibas
Lauren Gray
Hannah Lee
Caitlin Mehaffey
Megan Rossi
Kirstie Russell
Jillian Williams

Men's Tennis (1)
Patriek Wolterbeek

Women's Tennis (1)
Dana Gray

Men's Track & Field (1)
Henry Johnson

Women's Track & Field (4)
Erica Bell
Janieyah Collins
Chloe Early
Kathryn Warner

Volleyball (1)
Andrea Queck