ECU Pirates :: Athletics News
Jelnick and Wolte Earn C-USA Scholar-Athlete Awards


July 11, 2013

Complete Scholar-Athlete Release

IRVING, Texas --- A pair of East Carolina University student-athletes, Jill Jelnick (softball) and Fanny Wolte (women's golf), have been named Conference USA Scholar-Athlete-of-the-Year for their respective sports as announced by Commissioner Britton Banowsky on Thursday. The C-USA Scholar Athlete-of-the-Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport, based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.

A native of Aliso Viejo, Calif., Jelnick maintained a perfect 4.0 grade point average as an English major, while starting all 52 games for the Pirates in 2013. She led the team in hits and finished the season batting .290. She was selected as one of 12 recipients of the 2013 C-USA Spring Spirit of Service Award. A member of the 2012 Capital One Academic All-America Second-Team, Jelnick has earned the C-USA Academic Medal three times and been named to the league's All-Academic Softball Team twice.

Wolte received third-team all-conference honors this past season to become the sixth player in school history to achieve all-league status in three consecutive years. She was also named an All-American Scholar for the third straight season for maintaining at least a 3.50 GPA. The Graz, Austria native played in 11 events posting a 75.27 stroke average, which ranked third on the team. Wolte is a three-time C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medal winner and has twice been named to the league's All-Academic Team.

ECU has had at least one of its student-athletes named as a conference sponsored-sport's top scholar-athlete each season since 2004-05. A total of 15 Pirate student-athletes have received this recognition with former volleyball standout Heidi Krug, earning the award twice.

Previous Conference USA Scholar-Athlete Award Winners
2001-02: Sam Narron (baseball)
2004-05: Kyle MacKenzie (men's cross country)
2005-06: Sarah Hunt (swimming & diving), Heidi Krug (volleyball)
2006-07: Heidi Krug (volleyball), Michelle Williams (women's golf)
2007-08: Hannah Priest (women's tennis), Kelly Wernert (volleyball)
2008-09: Nicole Moore (women's soccer)
2009-10: Abby Bools (women's golf)
2010-11: Toni Paisley (softball)
2011-12: Kimmy Cummings (women's soccer), Matthew Milner (football)