ECU Pirates :: Athletics

Athletic Training

2015-16 Emergency Action Plans

ECU Athletic Training

The student-athlete at East Carolina University has the luxury of having one of the most dedicated health care teams in the Southeast. Directed by Mike Hanley, Associate Director of Athletics for Student Services, along with trainers Nathan Clark, Ben Crawford, Jake Moore (head football athletic trainer), Sharon Rogers, Brian Wiese, Zac Womack, Lauren Yaeger, Ashley Yartin, Tracy Yoshikawa, and team physician Dr. Joe Armen, the ECU Athletic Training program provides every Pirate student athlete the best available care for their injuries. Hanley, the 2009 National Athletic Trainer's Association (NATA) Trainer-of-the-Year, and his staff are assisted by a wide array of community-based physicians and other health care providers.

Housed in the Ward Sports Medicine Building adjacent to Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium and Minges Coliseum, the main athletic training room is a modern facility complete with the latest equipment. Satellite athletic training rooms are located in Minges Coliseum, Murphy Strength and Conditioning Center, Clark-LeClair Stadium and the Williams-Harvey Teams Building (Terry Holland Sports Complex).


Mike HanleyAssociate AD for Student Services
Krista CaranoAssistant Athletic Trainer (Women's Basketball)
Nate ClarkAssociate Athletic Trainer (Men's Basketball)
Ben CrawfordAssistant Athletic Trainer (Track & Field)
Jake MooreHead Football Athletic Trainer
Sharon RogersAssociate Professor (Men's/Women's Golf)
Zac WomackHead Athletic Trainer (Baseball)
Katie Walsh FlanaganEducation Program Director
Gwyn CarrawayAthletic Insurance Coordinator
Ryan AndersonGraduate Assistant
Zach BrighamGraduate Assistant
Hanna EllisGraduate Assistant
Anna FarringtonGraduate Assistant
Dr. John SiegelTeam Physician Emeritus
Dr. Joe ArmenTeam Physician/Student Health Services
Dr. Randy FussellDentistry
Dr. Phil PerdueOrthopedics
Dr. Chris HastyOrthopedics
Dr. Stuart LeeNeurosurgery
Dr. Walt JenkinsPhysical Therapy
Dr. Kevin YoungsPhysical Therapy
Dr. Dennis McGeeChiropractic
Dr. Greg MurphyUrology
Chris MillsSports Medicine Fellow