ECU Concludes Season At C-USA Championships

Daniel Woods

Feb. 23, 2013

Complete Results

HOUSTON --- On the final day of competition at the Conference USA Women's Swimming & Diving Championships and Men's Invitational, East Carolina set three varsity records and recorded four NCAA `B' qualifying times at the University of Houston Campus Recreation & Wellness Center Natatorium Saturday.

The ECU women's team finished in fourth-place, 134 points behind meet winner Rice (739). Houston (694.50) came in second followed by SMU (664.50), East Carolina (605), Tulane (373) and Marshall (255).

Freshman Bailie Monahan earned a spot on the medal stand by finishing second in the 200-yard butterfly with a freshman/varsity record time of 1:58.25, which was also an NCAA "B' qualifying time. She was one of four Pirates to finish in the top 8 of the event: Danielle Morrin (5th), Lauren Baker (6th) and Lauren Gray (7th).

Lauren Chew (16:48.27) and Alexandra Jones (16:56.18) placed fifth and sixth, respectively in the 1650-yard freestyle. Also earning a fifth-place finish was Charlsie Lincoln (2:17.02) in the 200-yard breaststroke. Anna Holland Lawrence (2:18.39) placed eighth in the 200-yard breaststroke as did Kayla Ford (2:02.75) in the 200-yard backstroke.



On the women's diving platform, Taylor Edwards earned a score of 156.25 to finish in seventh-place and Colleen Jones received a score of 145.65 to place eighth.

The Pirates (711.50) placed third in the Men's Invitational behind SMU (967) and Western Kentucky (907.5) with Florida Atlantic (490) in fourth-place.

Daniel Woods captured the gold medal in the 200-yard butterfly with an NCAA `B' qualifying time of 1:46.05, setting the ECU varsity record. J.D. Flanagan joined him on the medal stand after winning the bronze medal and posting an NCAA `B' qualifying time (1:47.87).

Julien Dodu (15:35.51) and Michael Dugan (15:40.72) also won medals finishing second and third in the 1650-yard freestyle. Rokas Cepulis claimed silver in the 200-yard breaststroke with an NCAA "B' time of 1:58.46.

Although he didn't earn a medal, Attila Kiraly set the school record in the 200-yard backstroke (1:46.76).

Sean Piacente (230.60), Tyler Dunsmore (227.70) and Kyle Comiskey (217.95) each competed in the diving platform finals and placed fifth, sixth and seventh.