ECU Heads to C-USA Outdoor Championships

Erin Tucker

May 8, 2013

Championship Central

GREENVILLE, N.C. –After a week off to prepare, the East Carolina track and field program will travel to Houston, Texas for the 2013 Conference USA Outdoor Championships. The contest is scheduled to begin on Thursday, May 9 and conclude on Sunday, May 12 at Holloway Field/Ley Track with Rice serving as the host institution.

“Both teams are very excited about the upcoming conference meet,” Head Coach Curt Kraft said. “We feel, as a team, that we still have a lot of unfinished business that we need to accomplish. The goal of this meet is to do as well as we can with both teams, and at the same time, try to have as many individual conference champions as possible.

“We feel that if we compete well, we will have more regional qualifiers and continue to break more school records. We feel, as a coaching staff, that the teams are prepared to have a great meet.”

Last season, the women’s squad earned a second place finish at the C-USA Outdoor Championships in New Orleans, while the men placed fourth. Both finishes marked the highest ever by each team.

This season, the Pirates have had a successful outdoor season in which ECU has won numerous individual events and set multiple school records. Most recently, the Pirates set three school records at the prestigious Penn Relays while winning four events.

Sophomore Kayla Padgett has emerged as a leader over the last few weeks as the Shallotte, N.C., native has set a pair of school records (shot put and discus) and won three events at the Charlotte Invitational before bettering her ECU school record mark (discus) at the Penn Relays as well as winning the women’s hammer throw.

During the outdoor season, seven school records were shattered. Tyshonda Hawkins is the new women’s 100-meter dash record holder with a time of 11.48, while Erin Tucker holds the record in the women’s 100-meter hurdles (13.53), and Kathryn Warner set a new school record in the pole vault with a mark of 3.82m (12-06.25). Additionally, the women’s shuttle hurdle relay squad of Cheyenne Hutchinson, Erica Bell, Amber Holloway, and Madison Rayfield set the standard with a time of 1:00.60. On the men’s side, the 4x800-meter relay team of Antonio Palmer, Jakub Trzasalski, Mike Quercia, and Dylan Traywick are the record holders with a time of 7:29.52.



The C-USA Outdoor Championships will begin on Thursday, May 9, at 4 p.m. with the heptathlon, followed by the decathlon at 4:30 p.m. Field events will begin on Saturday, May 10 at 2:30 p.m. and the running events will commence at 8 p.m.