Baseball Hosts Letterwinners And ECBL Game This Weekend

UABSPORTS.COM Senior Zach Wright
Senior Zach Wright

April 27, 2012

GREENVILLE, N.C. - The East Carolina baseball team will host its annual Letterwinners Day and its Exceptional Community Baseball League (ECBL) game this weekend at Lewis Field inside Clark-LeClair Stadium.

Prior to first pitch on Saturday, Apr. 28 (approximately 1:45 p.m.), ECU will recognize nearly 30 former letterwinners, which include Hall of Famers Dennis Burke, Cotton Clayton, Ron Hastings, Ms. Betty Mallory (representing Jim Mallory), Dr. Gary Overton and Al Vaughn. Also scheduled to attend are: Scott Andrews, Addison Bass, Dennis Barbour, Geoff Beaston, Billy Best, Jimmy Byrd, Brian Cavanaugh, Frank Cerruzzi, Heath Clark, Wally Cockrell, Jake Dean, Terry Durham, Jay Edwards, Clarence Hardison, Austin Homan, Charlie Johnston, Jim Martin, Bob Menifee, Tom Moye, Sonny Robinson, Josh Potter, Mike Sanburn, Nick Schnabel, Lin Spears, Corey Scott, Russell Smith, Wilbur Thompson, Wayne Vick, Doug Watts, Ted Whitley, Floyd Wicker, Trent Whitehead and George Whitfield.

Following Sunday's series finale (approximately 30 minutes), ECU will hold its annual ECBL game. Acting in a buddy system, the Pirates will help the eight-team league (roughly 50 participants) with all phases of the game such as hitting, fielding and throwing.

Basic Rules of ECBL are as follows:
1. Teams can include as many as 6-10 players.
2. Each player has a "buddy" which will assist each player during the course of the game.
3. Every player on the roster gets to bat and play the field each inning.
4. No score will be kept.