Williams Named Semi-Finalist For Gregg Olson Award

UABSPORTS.COM Senior RHP Ryan Williams
Senior RHP Ryan Williams

May 30, 2014

Gregg Olson Award Semi-Finalists

GREENVILLE, N.C. - Less than 24 hours after earning Louisville Slugger Third-Team All-America honors by Collegiate Baseball, East Carolina senior Ryan Williams has been named a semi-finalist for the 2014 Gregg Olson Award, which is given to college baseball's "Breakout Player-of-the-Year". Williams is one of 36 players and one of four Conference USA pitchers named on the list.

The right-hander, who earned First-Team All-Conference USA accolades, led the Pirates in six pitching categories and became the 10th hurler in program history to claim the pitching triple crown, which consists of leading the club in wins, ERA and strikeouts.

Williams, who became the first Division I pitcher to win 10 games this season, closed out the season with an 11-3 record with seven saves in 32 appearances, picking up a win or save in 18 of the Pirates 33 victories.

The Morgan Hill, Calif. native struck out 76 batters while walking just 11 and ranks 10th nationally in strikeout-to-walk ration (6.91). Williams allowed 27 runs (20 earned) in 99.2 innings and registered a 1.81 ERA.

Williams, the 11th recipient of the honorary No. 23 jersey worn by the late ECU Head Coach Keith LeClair, took home the Williams Jungle Pitcher-of-the-Year award while being named to the NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year Midseason and College Baseball Hall of Fame Pitcher-of-the-Year Watch Lists.

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.



Finalists will be announced on Friday, June 6th at the beginning of Super Regional action. The winner of the 2014 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 2014.