Minges Maniacs Nominated For Student Section Of The Year



Jan. 21, 2014

GREENVILLE, N.C. - East Carolina University has been nominated as one of the top college basketball student sections in the country and is now asking for its fans' support in helping it win the prestigious title. Pirate fans can have a say in determining the most deserving student section by voting for the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award daily via social media platforms. A person can vote once every 24 hours via the direct link (to the Facebook app) and once every 24 hours via Twitter. There is no limit on overall votes by an individual (so they can vote twice per day throughout promotion).Voting begins January 22.

There are three ways fans can vote:
Via a direct link: www.mystudentsectionrocks.com or http://bit.ly/1fzbsNx.
2. Via College Colors on Facebook: www.facebook.com/collegecolors
3. Via Twitter: Using your designated hashtag, #RockECUColors, #beststudentsection

"We want to encourage the entire Pirate Nation to vote for the Minges Maniacs as the best student section in the country," ECU Head Coach Jeff Lebo stated. "They give us such a unique home court advantage and its because of them (and our entire fan base) that we've been so successful here the past few years. It's very important that our fans get their votes in and show the country how much Pirate Pride we have."

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership between the Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), the licensing affiliate of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating student fans that support their college basketball team with passion and devotion.

"College basketball student sections embody the energy, passion and enthusiasm that create a uniquely coveted home court advantage, and we want to celebrate that," said Catherine Gammon, Senior Vice President of Brand Development for CLC. "We are encouraging all fans to make sure the students of their favorite school are recognized for the spirit they display by casting votes daily."



The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award will be determined through two rounds of public voting, combined with a scoring of the finalists by the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors. The Board of Selectors will review criteria such as rank during the two rounds of public voting, video submission showcasing the spirit of the student section, any organized efforts to promote voting for the award, as well as the group's support of any philanthropic organization during the season. Complete details on the selection process can be found at facebook.com/CollegeColors.

Besides bragging rights, the winning student section earns a $10,000 donation to their school's general scholarship fund and will be honored during a home basketball game. In addition, the school with the highest number of public votes in each represented conference will earn a $250 donation to their school.

The 2014 campaign marks the third year of the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award. The University of Kansas won the inaugural award in 2012, while Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) took home top honors in 2013.