Carden Named To Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List

UABSPORTS.COM Junior quarterback Shane Carden
Junior quarterback Shane Carden

Aug 21, 2013

Inaugural Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

TYLER, Texas - East Carolina junior quarterback Shane Carden, who turned in the third-highest single-season passing total in school history last fall with 3,116 yards and 23 touchdowns, has been named to the Inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List according to a release by the organization Wednesday.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.

A three-time Conference USA Player-of-the-Week choice in 2012 after taking over the starting position prior to the third game of the campaign, Carden played a key role leading the Pirates to a divisional co-championship and the program's sixth bowl appearance in the last seven years. He completed 273-of-413 attempts to stand second in the league in both passing yards and completion percentage (66.1), while finishing fifth in total offense (254.4 ypg).

Carden, who topped ECU with eight rushing touchdowns, also ranked among the nation's top 35 in total passing yards, completions per game (21.0) and points responsible for (14.3 ppg). In addition to matching a single-game school record with five TD throws against Memphis on Oct. 13, he established a new standard with 439 passing yards in the Pirates' 65-59 victory over Marshall on Nov. 23.

The initial Watch List will be trimmed down to 16 semi-finalists in November with four finalists announced in December before the winner is revealed on January 10, 2014 in Tyler, Texas.