Emanuel Davis Named To All-Freshman Squad

UABSPORTS.COM Freshman Emanuel Davis
Freshman Emanuel Davis

Dec. 9, 2008

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA announced its 2008 All-Freshman football team today, as selected by the league's 12 head football coaches. Ten schools were represented with at least one selection, while Southern Miss placed a league-high five players on the squad and Houston had four players selected to six different positions.

Emanuel Davis, who is the 11th Pirate in the last three years to be named to the all-freshman squad, was East Carolina's lone selection in 2008. The Manteo, N.C. native has played in 12 games with four starts, currently leads the team in pass breakups (7), while sharing the team lead in interceptions (four). He was named C-USA Defensive Player-of-the-Week on Nov. 10 after picking off a career-best two passes against Marshall (11/8). Davis recorded interceptions in back-to-back contests (UCF and Marshall) and on his first career interception scored from 11 yards out against Houston.

Headlining Southern Miss' selections is DeAndre Brown, who earned one of the three wide receiver spots. Brown currently leads all NCAA FBS rookies in receiving yards (1,108), receiving yards per game (92.33) and touchdowns (12). He is also second in receptions with 66. He is joined on the offense by his quarterback, Austin Davis, the first Golden Eagle freshman to start the season at QB since 1991. Davis has notched 13 USM records in 2008, including single-game marks for passing yards (461) and total and rushing TDs (five). He is tied for the overall team lead in rushing TDs (9) and is second in rushing yards (471).

Three Golden Eagle defenders, defensive lineman Terrance Pope and Deddrick Jones, along with LB Korey Williams were chosen to the squad. Pope has appeared in all 12 of his team's games, including one start against Boise State, and has posted 14 total tackles (8 solos) and 2.5 tackles for loss. Jones also played in all 12 games to register 17 tackles (11 solos) and 3.5 tackles for loss. Williams started the first four games before missing the next eight with a broken jaw and still tallied 21 tackles, four for loss, to go along with a team-best three fumble recoveries.



Among Houston's four choices is wide receiver Tyron Carrier, who leads all NCAA FBS freshman in receptions with 75. In addition, he has tallied 977 yards, for a per game average of 81.4 and nine TDs. Carrier was also selected to the team at both kick and punt returner. On the year he has a team-high tying seven punt returns for 43 yards and is second on the team with 24 kick returns for a team-high 539 yards and a 93-yard TD return.

Joining Carrier from the Cougars was RB Bryce Beall, OL Chris Thompson, and LB Marcus McGraw. Beall has a team-leading 1,112 rushing yards and 12 TDs. He is the first freshman in UH history to rush for 1,000 yards. Thompson started 10 of 11 games at left guard and right tackle and helped the Houston line clear the way for Beall, while McGraw is second on his team with 88 tackles, including 5.5 for loss and one forced fumble.

Marshall had four selections, led by CB DeQuan Bembry. Bembry started 11 consecutive games at cornerback and leads MU with 7.5 tackles for loss and 11 pass breakups. He ranked third on the team with 80 tackles, 37 of which were solo tackles. The Herd was represented by two offensive lineman, C.J. Wood and Ryan Tillman, while PK Tyler Warner was also honored.

Rice produced three selections, DL Arnaud Gascon-Nadon, DB Travis Bradshaw and P Kyle Martens. Bradshaw, the league's defensive player of the week on Nov. 24, is the second leading tackler on the team (81) and has been credited with double-digit tackles in each of his four starts.

Tulsa also garnered three selections in OL Tyler Holmes, WR Demaris Johnson and DB DeAundre Brown. Johnson leads C-USA and s 4th in the NCAA FBA in all-purpose yards with 2,201 for a 169.3 average. He set the school record for kickoff return yards earlier in the season.

UCF (RB Brynn Harvey and LS Charley Hughley) and UTEP (DL Bernard Obi and LB Jamie Irving) each had two selections to the team, while Davis and OL Ronald Leary represented East Carolina and Memphis, respectively.

Conference USA will announce its Freshman of the Year on Wednesday, December 10.


Quarterback - Austin Davis, Southern Miss
Running Back- Bryce Beall, Houston
Running Back - Brynn Harvey, UCF
Offensive Lineman- Chris Thompson, Houston
Offensive Lineman- C.J. Wood, Marshall
Offensive Lineman- Ronald Leary, Memphis
Offensive Lineman- Tyler Holmes, Tulsa
Wide Receiver- Tyron Carrier, Houston
Wide Receiver- DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
Wide Receiver- Damaris Johnson, Tulsa

Defensive Lineman- Terrance Pope, Southern Miss
Defensive Lineman- Arnaud Gascon-Nadon, Rice
Defensive Lineman- Deddrick Jones, Southern Miss
Defensive Lineman- Bernard Obi, UTEP
Linebacker- Marcus McGraw, Houston
Linebacker- Korey Williams, Southern Miss
Linebacker- Jamie Irving, UTEP
Defensive Back- Emmanuel Davis, East Carolina
Defensive Back- DeQuan Bembry, Marshall
Defensive Back- Travis Bradshaw, Rice
Defensive Back- DeAundre Brown, Tulsa

Placekicker- Tyler Warner, Marshall
Punter - Kyle Martens, Rice
Kick Returner- Tyron Carrier, Houston
Punt Returner- Tyron Carrier, Houston
Long Snapper - Charley Hughlett, UCF