Emanuel Davis Named CFN All-Freshman Second-Team

UABSPORTS.COM Freshman Emanuel Davis
Freshman Emanuel Davis

Dec. 12, 2008

GREENVILLE, N.C. -East Carolina defensive back Emanuel Davis picked up his second post-season honor Friday afternoon after being named to the 2008 CollegeFootballNews.com All-Freshman Second-Team.

Davis, who was named to the Conference USA All-Freshman squad earlier this week, has played in 12 games with four starts. The Manteo, N.C. native currently leads the team in pass breakups (7), while sharing the team lead in interceptions (four). He was named C-USA Defensive Player-of-the-Week on Nov. 10 after picking off a career-best two passes against Marshall (11/8). Davis recorded interceptions in back-to-back contests (UCF and Marshall) and on his first career interception scored from 11 yards out against Houston.

Davis is one of four C-USA freshman named to CFN's first or second team, joining Dequan Bembry (Marshall), Bryce Beall (Houston) and Tyler Holmes (Tulsa). Southern Miss' Austin Davis and Tulsa's Damaris Johnson were named Honorable Mention.

2008 CFN All-Freshman Team
*Indicates player is a true freshman

CFN All-Freshman Offense
Offensive Freshman of the Year: RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon St.

2008 CFN All-Freshman Defense
Defensive Freshman of the Year: LB Travis Lewis, Oklahoma

First-Team Offense
QB Russell Wilson, NC State
*RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State
RB Darren Evans, Virginia Tech
*WR DeAndre Brown, Southern Miss
*WR A.J. Green, Georgia
*TE Kyle Rudolph, Notre Dame
OT Matt Reynolds, BYU
OG Mason Cloy, Clemson
*C Ben Jones, Georgia
*OG Cordy Glenn, Georgia
OT Elvis Fisher, Missouri

First-Team Defense
*DE Marcus Robinson, Miami
*DT Lawrence Guy, Arizona State
*DT Marcus Forston, Miami
*DE Brandon Harold, Kansas State
LB Travis Lewis, Oklahoma
LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt
*LB Sean Spence, Miami
*CB Janoris Jenkins, Florida
S Earl Thomas, Texas
*S Trent Hunter, Texas A&M
CB Dequan Bembry, Marshall



First-Team Special Teams
PK Philip Welch, Wisconsin
P Bryan Anger, Cal

Second-Team Offense
QB *Terrelle Pryor, Ohio State
*RB Bryce Beall, Houston
RB Victor Anderson, Louisville
*WR Jeff Fuller, Texas A&M
*WR Michael Floyd, Notre Dame
TE Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt
OT Mitchell Schwartz, Cal
*OG Trevor Robinson, Notre Dame
*C Mike Brewster, Ohio State
OG Moe Petrus, Connecticut
OT Tyler Holmes, Tulsa

Second-Team Defense
DE Matt Conrath, Virginia
DT T.J. Greenstone, Vanderbilt
*DT Zach Stadther, Arkansas
DE Tom Keiser, Stanford
*LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas
LB Brandon Maye, Clemson
*LB Don'ta Hightower, Alabama
*CB Leonard Johnson, Iowa State
*S Blake Gideon, Texas
*S Will Hill, Florida
CB Emanuel Davis, East Carolina

Second-Team Special Teams
*PK James Aho, New Mexico
*P Clinton Durst, Auburn