Wes Conover Named Conference USA Newcomer-of-the-Year

Wes Conover

May 6, 2014

IRVING, Texas --- East Carolina sophomore Wes Conover has been named Conference USA Newcomer-of-the-Year announced the league office Tuesday. He is the first ECU player to receive the award, which was given out initially in 2007.

Conover is a two-time C-USA weekly award winner. He earned his first award with his first career top-10 finish, placing ninth, at the Sea Best Invitational at TPC Sawgrass, carding a career-best 5-under 67 in the final round. Conover received his second weekly accolade in April after capturing individual medalist honors for the first time in his career, winning the 2014 River Landing Intercollegiate with a 4-under 212.

Prior to enrolling at ECU over the summer, Conover was a member of the club team at NC State for two years and a student in its PGA Golf Management program. In his first year with the Pirates, he posted the second-lowest scoring average on the team, 74.29, behind senior Eric Brady (73.49).

UAB's Paul Dunne was selected Golfer-of-the-Year with C-USA champion Rice boasting both the Freshman-of-the-Year and Coach-of-the-Year in Kevin Reilly and Justin Emil, respectively.

2014 All-Conference USA Men's Golf Awards
Golfer of the Year: Paul Dunne, UAB
Freshman of the Year: Kevin Reilly, Rice
Newcomer of the Year: Wes Conover, East Carolina
Coach of the Year: Justin Emil, Rice

All-Conference USA First Team
Franco Castro, Charlotte
Brett Patterson, Middle Tennessee
Logan McCracken, Tulsa
Paul Dunne, UAB
Wilson McDonald, UAB

All-Conference USA Second Team
Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech
Kevin Reilly, Rice
Matt Mabrey, Tulsa
Sam Love, UAB
Martin Rowher, UAB



All-Conference USA Freshman Team
Connor O'Rourke, Florida Atlantic
Clark Robinson, Marshall
Kevin Reilly, Rice
Frederik Dreier, UTEP
Bryce Alley, UTSA