Pirates Receive Seed And Tee Times For NCAA Championships

Harold Varner

May 22, 2012

GREENVILLE, N.C. --- The East Carolina men's golf team has been seeded 23rd for the 2012 NCAA Championships at the Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif., May 29-June 3.

Thirty teams and six individuals qualified for this year's championship event through six regional tournaments. After 54 holes of stroke play, the top eight teams will advance to match play on Friday, June 1 to determine the champion. The individual national champion will be crowned at the conclusion of stroke play.

The Pirates will be paired with No. 22 seed Oklahoma and No. 24 Illinois for the first two rounds of competition. The trio will tee off in 10-minute increments from 7:50 to 8:20 a.m. on Tuesday and from 1:10 to 1:50 p.m. Wednesday. The third-round tee times and pairings will be based on the 36-hole scores.

ECU advanced to the national championship finals out of the Athens Region at the University of Georgia Golf Course. The sixth-seeded Pirates finished in second-place behind No. 1 seed Alabama.

"The end goal is to go to the finals and compete with the mindset to win," Pirate head coach Press McPhaul said. "This is the affirmation of the hard work and sacrifice that the guys have put in."

East Carolina is one of the five Conference USA teams in the field --- UCF, UAB, Memphis and Tulsa. Only the Pac-12 Conference has more teams represented with six. The Big 10 and SEC each have four teams in the field.

1. Texas (Big XII); 2. Alabama (SEC); 3. California (Pac-12); 4. Auburn (SEC); 5. UCLA (Pac-12); 6. USC (Pac-12); 7. Oregon (Pac-12); 8. Washington (Pac-12); 9. Stanford (Pac-12); 10. San Diego State (MWC); 11. North Florida (A-Sun); 12. Texas A&M (Big XII); 13. Virginia (ACC); 14. Liberty (Big South); 15. Chattanooga (SoCon); 16. Kent State (MAC); 17. Florida (SEC); 18. Florida State (ACC); 19. UCF (C_USA); 20. Georgia (SEC); 21. Iowa (Big 10); 22. Oklahoma (Big XII); 23. East Carolina (C-USA); 24. Illinois (Big 10); 25. UAB (C-USA); 26. TCU (MWC); 27. Memphis (C-USA); 28. Virginia Tech (ACC); 29. Lamar (Southland); 30. Tulsa (C-USA).