Pirates Head South To Play In Rees Jones Intercollegiate

UABSPORTS.COM George Kilgore
George Kilgore

Sept. 21, 2013

Live Scoring

GREENVILLE, N.C. --- Coming off a sixth-place finish at the Tar Heel Intercollegiate last weekend, East Carolina returns to the links Sunday at the Rees Jones Invitational. The three-day event will be held on the Rees Jones Signature Course at the Haig Point Club in Daufuskie Island, S.C. with 18 holes being played each day.

The Pirates are competing in the tournament for the second-straight year after finish as runner-up last season behind tournament champion Liberty, who is also in the field again this season. The 12-team tournament also features host South Carolina along with Charleston Southern, Charlotte, Georgia State, Kennesaw State, Middle Tennessee, Troy, UNC Wilmington, USF and Winthrop.

Following a competitive week of qualifying, four members of the Pirates' Tar Heel Intercollegiate lineup will be back in action. Senior Eric Brady has earned the No. 1 spot again after posting a 2-over to tie for 13th to open the season. Senior Ryan Eibner, who failed to qualify for the season opener, will reside in the No. 2 position followed by sophomores George Kilgore, Al Dickens and Josh Chandler. Jacob Hicks will also compete as an individual.

Two members of the Pirates' lineup competed at Haig Point last season. Eibner finished tied for 13th at 10-over a year ago, while Brady fired a 12-over to tie for 18th as his scores subsequently got lower with each round. Hicks also played in last year's tournament and finished in 36th at 17-over.



Rees Jones, the architect of the original course in 1986, returned to Haig Point six years ago for a restoration. The stunning course has appeared multiple times in Golf Digest's "America's 100 Greatest Courses" and earned a position in Golf Magazine's "Top 100 in the World."

The tournament will get underway on Sunday with teams teeing off at 8:30 a.m. off the first and 10th tees. ECU will be paired with Charleston Southern and Charlotte and will tee off hole No. 10 beginning at 9:40. Live scoring will be available all three days at golfstatresults.com.