Women's Basketball Holds End of the Year Reception

Kristine Mial
Photo Gallery

March 31, 2014

GREENVILLE, N.C. - The East Carolina women's basketball program held its annual end of the year reception Monday night in Harvey Hall as players, staff, administrators and supporters filled the room as the Pirates were recognized for their accomplishments on and off the court during the 2013-14 season.

Redshirt sophomore forward Jada Payne took home the Outstanding Player of the Year award after leading ECU in scoring (18.4 points per game) and rebounding (7.5 boards per game). She concluded the year as a First Team All-Conference USA selection and contributed 55 assists, 46 steals and six blocks on the season.

The Offensive Player of the Year award went to freshman J'Kyra Brown as she finished the season with 184 points, 52 rebounds, 25 assists, 16 steals and nine blocks. She earned two Conference USA Freshman of the Week honors and poured in a career-high 29 points against league foe Louisiana Tech in January.

Ondrea Shaw was named Defensive Player of the Year after setting a new single-season school record with 101 total blocks. She averaged a conference-leading 3.3 blocks per game, which ranks eighth in the nation. Shaw's performance during the 2013-14 season earned her a spot on the C-USA All-Defensive team.

Redshirt junior guard Abria Trice collected the Most Valuable Pirate Award after averaging 15.2 points per game and 4.8 rebounds per game, while adding a team-best 51 steals, 39 assists and 19 blocks. Trice finished the year as a Second Team All-Conference USA selection.

Tatiana Chapple received the ECU First Award, which is given to the player on the team that puts East Carolina first in all of her social, academic and athletic decisions. Senior forward Kristine Mial was awarded the Janay Davis Award, which is presented to the Pirate who always puts her best effort in everything she does both on and off the court.

The reception also honored the Pirates' academic achievements as eight student-athletes were named to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll after having earned a grade point average of 3.0 or higher. In addition to receiving certificates for the Athletic Director's Honor Roll, Tatiana Chapple, Kyani White and Colleen Marshall were also presented with the Academic Excellence Award which is given to student-athletes with a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Chapple and Shae Nelson were also honored for their performances in the weight room. Nelson took home the Most Improved Award, while Chapple was named MVP.

Janay Davis Award
Winner: Kristine Mial
Given By: Heather Macy

Defensive Player of the Year Award
Winner: Ondrea Shaw
Sponsor: Skip Morris

Most Valuable Pirate Award
Winner: Abria Trice
Sponsor: Dr. Ed and Joann Cavenaugh

ECU First Award
Winner: Tatiana Chapple
Sponsor: Mark Garner

Offensive Player of the Year Award
Winner: J'Kyra Brown
Sponsor: Pat and Lynn Lane

Outstanding Player of the Year Award
Winner: Jada Payne
Sponsor: Walter and Marie Williams

Athletic Director's Honor Roll
Tatiana Chapple
Janesha Ebron
Akia Jones
Colleen Marshall
Kristine Mial
Shae Nelson
Jada Payne
Kyani White

Academic Excellence Awards
Tatiana Chapple
Colleen Marshall
Kyani White