Women's Basketball Holds Annual Awards Reception

UABSPORTS.COM Celeste Stewart and Coach Heather Macy
Celeste Stewart and Coach Heather Macy

April 2, 2013

Photo Gallery

GREENVILLE, N.C. - The East Carolina women's basketball program held its annual end of the year reception on Tuesday night in Harvey Hall. Numerous players, staff, administrators, and supporters were on hand as the Pirates were recognized for their accomplishments both on and off the court during the 2012-13 season.

Senior point guard Celeste Stewart was named Outstanding Player of the Year as she led the team with 132 assists and averaged 11.6 points per game. A member of the Conference USA First Team, she poured in 20-plus points on two occasions and finished her ECU career ranked sixth in the career record book with a total of 366 assists.

Redshirt senior Whitny Edwards collected the Offensive Player of the Year award as she averaged a team-best 12.0 points per game after totaling 371 points. She shot 40.4-percent from the field and average nearly two three-point field goals per game to rank sixth in the conference. She also ranked in the top 15 in both field goal percentage and three-point field goal percentage as she shot 31.9-perecent from beyond the arc.

The Defensive Player of the Year award went to sophomore Tatiana Chapple. The forward out of Columbus, Ohio, led a Pirate defense that limited opponents to 56.8 points per game and collected 12.1 steals per contest to rank eighth in the nation. Individually, she tallied 28 steals and posted 13 blocks on the year to lead a team that set the standard in almost every defensive category in Conference USA.

Redshirt senior Britny Edwards earned the Most Valuable Pirate Award after she averaged 10.3 points per game and led the team in rebounding with 8.5 boards per contest. Additionally, she led the squad with 43 blocks and shot 48-percent from the field. She finished the year as a member of the All-Conference USA Defensive Team and concluded her ECU career with 88 blocks to rank fifth in the ECU career record book.

Junior Kristine Mial received the ECU First Award, which is given to the player on the team that puts ECU first in all of her social, academic, and athletic decisions. Freshman Colleen Marshall was awarded the Janay Davis Award, which is presented to the Pirate who always puts her best effort in everything she does both on and off the court.

The reception also honored the Pirates' academic achievements as 11 of the 14 eligible student-athletes were named to the Athletic Director's Honor Roll for having earned a GPA of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester. In addition receiving certificates for the Athletic Director's Honor Roll, Tatiana Chapple, Ariana Jackson, Katie Paschal, and Kyani White were also presented with the Academic Excellence Award which is given to upperclassmen student-athletes with a GPA of 3.5 or higher.

Mial, Stewart, and Jackson were also honored for their record-breaking contributions in the weight room. Mial set two new ECU school records as she benched 215 pounds and did 17 pull-ups, while Stewart was awarded for her school-record 315 pounds on the squat, and Jackson notched a school record 190 pounds on cleans.

Janay Davis Award
Winner: Colleen Marshall
Given by: Coach Heather Macy

Defensive Player of the Year Award
Winner: Tatiana Chapple
Sponsor: Skip Morris

Most Valuable Pirate Award
Winner: Britny Edwards
Sponsor: Dr. Ed and Joann Cavenaugh

ECU First Award
Winner: Kristine Mial
Sponsor: Mark Garner

Offensive Player of the Year Award
Winner: Whitny Edwards
Sponsor: Pat and Lynn Lane

Outstanding Player of the Year Award
Winner: Celeste Stewart
Sponsor: Walter and Marie Williams

Athletic Director's Honor Roll
Tatiana Chapple
Janesha Ebron
Shala Hodges
Ariana Jackson
Dana Jones
Colleen Marshall
Kristine Mial
Katie Paschal
Shawnda Robinson
Celeste Stewart
Kyani White