ECU In Fifth At C-USA Women's Golf Championships

UABSPORTS.COM Senior Fanny Wolte
Senior Fanny Wolte

April 21, 2014

Day Results Get Acrobat Reader

GULF SHORES, Ala. - East Carolina opened the 2014 Conference USA Women's Golf Championships carding an 8-over 296 and currently sits in fifth place after 18 holes.

Defending champion No. 34 Tulane leads by five strokes after the first round of competition at the Peninsula Golf & Racquet Club. The Green Wave's Gemma Dryburgh and Emily Penttila along with Fabiola Arriaga of UTSA share the individual lead at 4-under par after 18 holes on the par 72, 6,145-yard course.

As a team, Tulane carded a 7-under 281 and has four players in the Top-10. In addition to today's leaders, Madison Opfer carded an even-par 72 and teammate Belen Goicoechea finished plus one (73).

UTSA is five strokes behind the Green Wave after collectively hitting 286 (2-under) in the opening round. The Roadrunners also boast four Top-10 individuals with Arriaga, Libby Thomas (t6th/even par), Taylor Newlin (t10th/1-over) and Brogan Townend (t10th/1-over).

East Carolina's Fanny Wolte and Camila Serrano of FIU posted rounds 1-under par, each shooting a 71. Four players are tied for sixth at even par, while there is a 12-way tie for 10th at one over.

Pirate sophomore Nicoline Engstroem Skaug is tied for 22nd after an opening round 2-over 74, while fellow classmate Lane Gakeler is one stroke behind in a tie for 25th at 3-over. Rounding out ECU's roster are sophomore Frida Gustafsson Spang (t29th/4-over) and Katie Kirk (t43rd/9-over).

Arriaga, FIU's Sophie Godley, Penttila and Wolte lead the field with six birdies each. Penttila topped the boards in par-3 scoring (2-under/2.50), while Arriaga took the honors in par-5 scoring (5-under/3.75).

Competition resumes tomorrow at 8:30 a.m. (CT) with split tees. Florida Atlantic and Marshall start on hole 10 at 8:30 a.m. Play on hole one begins at 8:50 a.m. with East Carolina, FIU and Old Dominion. Tulsa and UTEP will go off from 10 at 9:20 a.m., while North Texas, Southern Miss and UAB open the back nine at 10:10 a.m. The top three teams, Tulane, UTSA and Middle Tennessee, tee off on hole one at 9:40 a.m.