Bools Named C-USA Co-Golfer-of-the-Year

UABSPORTS.COM Senior Abby Bools Is One Of Three C-USA Golfers With Multiple Player-of-the-Year Honors
Senior Abby Bools Is One Of Three C-USA Golfers With Multiple Player-of-the-Year Honors

April 26, 2010

IRVING, Texas - East Carolina senior Abby Bools was named Conference USA Co-Golfer-of-the-Year, as selected by the 10 league head coaches Monday afternoon. Bools (2008 & 2010) joins former C-USA standouts Pam Buff (Tulane/1998-2000) and Brooke Tull (TCU/2002-04) as the only multiple Player-of-the-Year winners in the leagues 15-year history.

"This is a great honor for Abby," said Head Coach Kevin Williams. "She was rewarded for all of her hard work and dedication and is very deserving of this award."

The Hickory, N.C. native helped the Pirates (102-64-1) to a second place finish at the 2010 C-USA Women's Golf Championships, their fourth-straight top-three placement, when she fired a one-under par 212 for a share of second-place. In 12 events this season, Bools has posted a 74.03 stroke average which is the lowest single-season average in school history. She recorded six Top-5, eight Top-10 and nine Top-20 placements and has a conference-best four C-USA Golfer-of-the-Week honors.

In 44 career events, Bools has two tournament wins, 15 Top-5, 24 Top-10 and 31 Top-20 finishes and owns a 75.40 stroke average, which ranks second all-time at ECU. She is a three-time first-team All C-USA performer (2008-10); nine-time C-USA Golfer-of-the-Week winner; three-time NGCA Academic All-America selection (2007-09) and three-time C-USA All-Academic (2008-10) recipient.

Amy Otteson joined Bools as an all-conference performer after posting a 75.67 stroke average, which is fourth all-time. The sophomore from Wilson, N.C. has recorded a pair of Top-10 finishes, including a share of eighth place at the C-USA Championships. In 21 career events, Otteson owns a 77.58 average with three Top-10's and nine Top-20's.

2010 Conference USA Women's Golf Postseason Awards



All-Conference USA First Team
Abby Bools, East Carolina
Janine Fellows, Tulane
Linn Gustafsson, Tulane
Ashley McKenney, Tulane
Kristina Merkle, Tulsa

All-Conference USA Second Team
Amy Otteson, East Carolina
Marissa Steen, Memphis
Samantha Troyanovich, Tulane
Rosana Gomez, UTEP
Shang Huang, UTEP

All-Conference Third Team
Maribel Lopez Porras, Tulane
Katie Detlefson, UCF
Valentina Fontaine, UCF
Carolin Pinegger, UCF
Deborah Martinez, UTEP

Coach-of-the-Year: J.T. Horton, Tulane
Co-Players-of-the-Year: Abby Bools, East Carolina and Janine Fellows, Tulane
Freshman-of-the-Year: Kristina Merkle, Tulsa