Pirate Golf Trio Takes Home C-USA All-Conference Honors

UABSPORTS.COM Senior Amy Otteson earns third-straight all-confernece honors
Senior Amy Otteson earns third-straight all-confernece honors

April 30, 2012

IRVING, Texas - East Carolina's Amy Otteson (first-team), Fanny Wolte (second-team) and Katie Kirk (third-team) have been named to the 2012 Conference USA Women's Golf All-Conference teams the league announced Monday afternoon. The three selections marks the 11th-straight season a Pirate has taken home All C-USA accolades.

Otteson, who finished seventh at the 2012 C-USA Women's Golf Champsionships last week, is a three-time all-conference performer following her third-team selection last year and second-team designation in 2010. During her senior season she posted a team-best and C-USA second-best 74.17 stroke average in 10 events, where she recorded seven Top- 20 finishes including a share of second place at the 2011 Lady Pirate Intercollegiate. In four years with the Pirates, Otteson owns a 76.17 career stroke average, which ranks fifth all-time in school history, and has posted 20 career Top-20 placements.

Wolte picked up her second career all-conference honor following her first-team selection a year ago where she was named C-USA Freshman-of-the-Year. The Graz, Austria native played in all 11 events as a sophomore carding a 74.69 stroke average with six Top-20 placements. In 10 of 11 events, she finished 27th or better and claimed a pair of sixth place finishes in her first two events of the season (GolfWeek Program Challenge and Wild Eggs Cardinal Cup). During her two year career, Wolte owns a 74.90 career stroke average, which ranks first all-time at ECU among golfers that have played at least 50 career rounds. She has two career tournament wins, both coming during her freshman season, and has 13 career Top-20 finishes.

Kirk has participated in all 11 events during her rookie season for the Pirates posting a 76.16 seasonal stroke average, which is the 16th-best single-season average in school history. The Davidson, N.C. native recorded a fourth place finish at the 2012 UNCW Lady Seahawk Classic with a 1-under par 215 and also took home a share of fifth place at the JMU Eagle Landing with a 1-over par 217.



The Pirates (102-48) will learn their post-season fate later tonight when the NCAA reveals the 72 teams selected to participate in the 2012 NCAA Women's Golf Championships.

2012 All-C-USA Women's Golf Teams

All-Conference USA First Team
Amy Otteson, East Carolina
Marissa Steen, Memphis
Maribel Lopez Porras, Tulane
Kristina Merkle, Tulsa
Marita Engzelius, Tulsa

All-Conference USA Second Team
Fanny Wolte, East Carolina
Felicia Espericueta, SMU
Katie Mitchell, UCF
Carolin Pinegger, UCF
Shang Fan Huang, UTEP

All-Conference USA Third Team
Katie Kirk, East Carolina
Gemma Dryburgh, Tulane
Ashley McKenney, Tulane
Samantha Troyanovich, Tulane
Kamryn Ruffin, Tulsa
Monifa Sealy, UCF
*Six players were named to the third team because of a tie in voting

Golfer of the Year: Kristina Merkle, Tulsa
Freshman of the Year: Katie Mitchell, UCF
Newcomer of the Year: Kristyn Morrone, Marshall
Coach of the Year: Randy Keck, Tulsa