ECU Ready To Participate In Central Regional

UABSPORTS.COM Senior Amy Otteson will participate in her fourth-straight NCAA Regional this weekend for ECU.
Senior Amy Otteson will participate in her fourth-straight NCAA Regional this weekend for ECU.

May 9, 2012

2012 ECU Golf Stats Get Acrobat Reader l 2012 ECU Media Guide l Regional Announcement

Live Scoring l NCAA Championship Central

GREENVILLE, N.C. - The East Carolina women's golf team will open up the 2011 NCAA Central Regional Thursday, May 10. The event is being played at the par-72, 6,264-yard Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio.

The Pirates (102-48) earned an at-large bid as the No. 19 seed and are set to tee off in the afternoon from the first tee at 2:25 p.m. (EST) and will be paired with Michigan and UNC Wilmington. In its 12th year of existence, ECU will make its fifth-straight team appearance in the NCAA Regional round and eighth overall as a squad.

Pirate fans can follow all the action live online at

The Central Regional is one of three regional tournaments, which will be held to determine the championship field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition, and all national championships policies will apply.

A total of 378 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

The championships finals will be held May 22-25 at the Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn., and will be hosted by Vanderbilt. The regional sites and the selected teams and individuals are listed below.

Central Regional
The Central regional will be played May 10-12 at the Ohio State Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio hosted by Ohio State. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1. Southern California
2. Auburn (Southeastern Conference)
3. Georgia
4. Vanderbilt
5. Tennessee
6. Ohio St.
7. Oregon
8. North Carolina St.
9. Virginia
10. Florida St.
11. Purdue
12. Arkansas
13. Ole Miss
14. Kentucky
15. Texas St.
16. South Fla. (Big East Conference)
17. Notre Dame
18. UTSA (Southland Conference)
19. East Carolina
20. Michigan
21. UNC Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)
22. Harvard (The Ivy League)
23. Butler (Horizon League)
24. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Madeleine Shiels, Nebraska
2. Alex Buelow, Stetson
3. Rika Park, Miami (FL)
4. Brittany Henderson, Costal Caro.
5. Leticia Ras-Anderica, Miami (FL)
6. Gabriella Wahl, East Tenn. St.