Golfing Trio Earns WGCA Scholar All-America Honors

UABSPORTS.COM Junior Katie Kirk
Junior Katie Kirk

July 2, 2014

Complete All-America Scholars List Get Acrobat Reader

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. - The East Carolina women's golfing trio of Katie Kirk, Nicoline Engstroem Skaug and Fanny Wolte have been named to 2013-14 Division I All-America Scholars according to an announcement by the Women's Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) Wednesday.

For Wolte she becomes the third Pirate in program history to be named to four-straight All-America Scholar squads following Abby Bools (2007-10) and Colleen Estes (2008-11). Kirk takes home her third consecutive honor and Skaug makes her first appearance on the list. It is also the 10th-straight year that at least two Pirates have been named All-America Scholars in the same year (2005-present).

"We are very proud to have three students-athletes named to the WGCA Academic All-America Team this year," said ECU Head Coach Kevin Williams. "I'm extremely proud of both Fanny (four years) and Katie (three) on being selected on consecutive years. They are true student-athletes and its and honor to have them as members of the ECU Golf program.

"Nico is a special student-athlete on and off the course. We talked prior to the season about what her GPA need to be in order to be named an All-America Scholar, and she surpassed what we both envisioned. This is a very special group of young ladies and I'm very honored to have all three of them representing East Carolina University on this prestigious team."

The criteria for selection to the All-America Scholar Team are some of the most stringent of all college athletics. The student-athlete must maintain at least a 3.50 cumulative grade-point average and have competed in at least 50 percent (Division I) or 66 percent (Division II & III) of the institution's regularly-scheduled competitive rounds during the year.

Kirk completed her third year with the Pirates participating in all 11 events including her third-straight NCAA Regional, while sporting a 75.52 stroke average. The Davidson, N.C. native posted her best finish of the season at the MOMorial with a 2-over par 218 taking a share of fourth place in the Pirates' opening event of the 2013 Fall season. In 17 of her 33 rounds, Kirk posted a 75 or better with a season-low 70 at the Old Waverly Bulldog Invitational. Off the course she is a three-time C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medal Winner, three-time C-USA Honor Roll recipient, a 2013-14 C-USA All-Academic Team selection and six-time ECU Director of Athletics Honor Roll member.

A two-time All C-USA performer, Skaug played in 11 events posting a 73.85 stroke average - the third-lowest single season average in school history. In all, the Oslo, Norway recorded seven Top-25 finishes with a season-best third place coming at the Old Waverly after her career-low round of 220. During her two-year career with the Pirates, Skaug owns a 74.28 stroke average, which ranks second all-time among Pirate golfers who have completed at least 50 rounds. In the classroom, she was named to the 2014 C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll and is a two-time ECU Director of Athletics Honor Roll recipient.

Wolte closed out her brilliant four-year career becoming just the second player in school history to earn four-straight all-conference honors joining Bools (2007-10). The Graz, Austria native played in 11 events on the season posting a 74.58 stroke average, which ranked third on the team. In 45 career events, she has two career wins, three Top-5, 11 Top-10 and 19 Top-20 finishes. Wolte owns a 75.04 career stroke average, which ranks third all-time at East Carolina.

In the classroom, Wolte is also a four-time C-USA Commissioner's Academic Medal winner, four-time C-USA Honor Roll recipient, eight-time ECU Director of Athletics Honor Roll member and three-time C -USA All-Academic Team selection.

In the 14-year history of the Lady Pirates golf program, 11 golfers have tallied 30 WGCA All-America Scholar honors.

East Carolina Women's Golf Coaches Association All-America Scholars
Abby Bools (2007-10)
Colleen Estes (2008-11)
Faith Hardison (2011-12)
Jessica Hauser (2005-07)
Katie Kirk (2012-14)
Lene Krog (2006-07)
Margret Mitchell (2002-04)
Nicoline Engstroem Skaug (2014)
Julia Strandberg (2011-12)
Michelle Williams (2005 and 2007)
Fanny Wolte (2011-14)