Hite, Romano, Frey Named to All-Conference USA Team

UABSPORTS.COM Freshman Caitlin Hite
Freshman Caitlin Hite

Nov. 4, 2013

IRVING, Texas - East Carolina freshman defender Caitlin Hite earned first-team All-Conference USA recognition, while redshirt junior defender Danielle Romano and sophomore forward Kendall Frey earned third team honors, announced Monday by the league office.

Hite becomes the first freshman in program history to earn first team All-C-USA honors. The Stafford, Va., native was also named to the league's 14-member All-Freshman team, became the ninth ECU player in the last eight seasons to accomplish the feat. Hite has played every minute in 17 of ECU's 19 games during her first season, which includes five double overtime games. The newcomer has been the team's left backer all season on a defense that has posted five shutouts and is holding opponents to a 0.79 shooting percentage.

Frey, who led the Pirates with five goals and tied for the team lead with 11 points during the regular season, earned her first all-conference award after being named to the 2012 All-Freshman team during her initial season. The Chester Springs, Pa., native has two game-winning goals and closed out the regular season with four goals over the team's last five games, where the team posted a 4-0-1 record during that span.

Romano, a team captain and central defender to the Pirate defense, has played every minute in 14 of the 16 games in which she appeared during the regular season. The Palatine, Ill., native owns three assists on the year and scored the game-winning goal - her first-career goal - against Middle Tennessee on a penalty kick with five seconds remaining to help East Carolina clinch its third straight conference tournament berth on Oct. 31.

The Pirates will head to Houston, Texas Wednesday, Nov. 6, where they will meet UTEP in the quarterfinals of the C-USA Championships. Kickoff is scheduled for noon at Rice University's Holloway Field.





Offensive Player of the Year
Rachel Holden, North Texas

Defensive Player of the Year
Kelsey Hodges, North Texas

Midfielder of the Year
Kaeli Vandersluis, Colorado College 

Freshman of the Year
Rachel Holden, North Texas

Coach of the Year
Geoff Bennett, Colorado College

All-Conference First Team
F: Rachel Holden, North Texas
F: Holly Hargreaves, Rice
F: Lauren Hughes, Rice
F: Azia Nicholson, UTEP
MF: Jessie Ayers, Colorado College
MF: Kaeli Vandersluis, Colorado College
MF: Quinney Truong, MF, Rice
D:  Katie Uyenishi, Colorado College
D:  Caitlin Hite, East Carolina
D: Olivia Mbala, Florida Atlantic
D: Kelsey Hodges, North Texas
GK: Kate Scheele, Colorado College

All-Conference Second Team
F: Ashleigh Shim, FIU
F: Claire Emslie, Florida Atlantic
F:  Jade Babcock, UTEP
MF: Amanda Jones, Charlotte
MF: Kate Loye, Middle Tennessee
MF: Jordan O'Brien, Tulsa
D: Monica Trickett, Charlotte
D: Kecia Morway, Colorado College
D: Tori Martyn, UTEP
GK:  Caitlin Updyke, Louisiana Tech
GK:  Bubba Makela, UTSA 

All-Conference Third Team
F: Sarah Schweiss, Colorado College
F: Kendall Frey, East Carolina
F: Vanessa Ibewuike, North Texas
F: Danica Roberts, Southern Miss
MF: Kim Lopez, FIU
MF: Paige Hanks, UAB
MF: Jasmine Kauka, UAB
MF: Aleah Davis, UTEP
D: Danielle Romano, East Carolina
D: Alyssa Cathey, Marshall
D: Emily Jorgenson, Middle Tennessee

All-Freshman Team
Nicole Anderson, D, Charlotte
Chanisse Hendrix, F, Colorado College
Caitlin Hite, D, East Carolina
Katie Englert, MF, Florida Atlantic
Majolein Timmermans, D, Louisiana Tech
Rachael Figg, F, Middle Tennessee
Rachel Holden, F, North Texas
Jenny Fichera, D, Rice
Brittany Taylor, GK, Southern Miss
Lana Bermel, MF, Tulsa
Morgan Key-Adams, MF, UAB
Kim Fincher, MF, UAB
Aleah Davis, MF, UTEP
Bubba Makela, GK, UTSA