Oshiro, Johnson Earn NFCA All-Region Honors

Kristi Oshiro

May 15, 2014

LOUISVILLE, Ky.  - East Carolina seniors Kristi Oshiro and Shelby Johnson were named 2014 National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) All-Mideast Region Second Team selections in an announcement made by the organization Thursday.

Both players were also named All-Conference USA Second Team selections just eight days ago.

A Mililani, Hawai'i native, Oshiro was one of just three East Carolina to start every game in 2014 and concluded her career with a streak of 195-straight. She recorded 12 multi-hit performances and drove in multiple runs eight times on the year, amassing a .350 average with 48 hits, 37 runs scored, six home runs and 36 RBI, while going a perfect 13-for-13 in stolen-base attempts. She also led the team in doubles (10) and walks (29).

Oshiro ended her final season with a .311 career average which ranks 10th in program history. She also ranks third all-time in walks drawn (112), sixth in runs (147), eighth in doubles (34) and triples (11) and ninth in hits (195).

Johnson completed the season with a .381 overall average, 56 hits and 43 runs scored this season. The Texas Tech transfer also ripped eight doubles, two triples and a pair of home runs, while ranking second in Conference USA with 36 stolen bases in 38 attempts during the regular season. Johnson also had two separate nine-game hitting streaks and scored five game-winning runs. Her 24 walks ranked third on the team in 2014.

The Jefferson, Ga., native became the first ECU player with 35 steals in a season since Lacassa Hill in 2004, the first since Kate Manuse in 2005 to hit at least .380, and the first Pirate with more than 40 runs scored since Charina Sumner in 2007.

First Team
P - Aimee Creger, Tulsa
P - Sara Nevins, USF
C - Catherine Horner, Tulsa
1B - Katelyn Bedwell, UNC Greensboro
2B - Kahley Novak, UCF
3B - Shaelynn Braxton, Marshall
SS - Jill Barrett, Tulsa
OF - Ashli Goff, USF
OF - Jackie Bates, Rutgers
OF - Chandler Howard, Rutgers
UT/P - Megan Hyson, Georgetown
UT/Non-P - Kristen McGrath, UAB 

Second Team
P - Leanna Pittsenbarger, Eastern Kentucky
P - Haley Chambers, SIU-Edwardsville
P - Erin Seiler, Akron
C - Lindsay Thomas, UNC Greensboro
1B - Stephanie Medina, USF
2B - Kristi Oshiro, East Carolina
3B - Farrah Sullivan, UCF
SS - Caitlin Attfield, UAB
OF - Shelby Johnson, East Carolina
OF - Kaelynn Greene, Marshall
OF - Cierra Hughes, Tulsa
UT/P - Savannah Jo Dorsey, Ohio
DP/UT-Non-P - Savannah Carpenter, Southeast Missouri State
DP/UT-Non-P - Morgan Zerkle, Marshall

Third Team
P - Leigh Streetman, UAB
P - Shelby Turnier, UCF
C - Lee Ann Spivey, USF
1B - Megan McGrath, UAB
2B - Jayna Spivey, SIU-Carbondale
3B - Maddy Grimm, Kent State
SS - Kourtney Salvarola, USF
OF - Haley Henshaw, Tulsa
OF - Holly Luciano, Buffalo
OF - Carleigh Nester, Elon
UT/P - Nicole Thomas, UNC Greensboro
DP/UT-Non-P - Erica Sampson, Tulsa