Willis Garners Second Team All-Conference Honors

Nicole Willis

Nov. 19, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Senior opposite hitter Nicole Willis was named to the All-Conference USA Team as announced by the league office Tuesday. The all-conference teams were voted on by the C-USA head coaches.

Willis is East Carolina's first all-conference volleyball honoree since 2007 when former Pirate Kelly Wernert collected first team accolades at the conclusion of the season.

"I'm really excited for Nicole to earn this honor," Head coach Julie Torbett said. "She's worked really hard in her senior season. To play with injures and rise above everything and come out an all-conference selection is really an accomplishment. I'm really proud of her. It was a privilege to have coached her."

The Raleigh, N.C., native garnered the honors after playing in and starting in all 32 matches for the Pirates this season as she led ECU in kills with 424 to average 3.66 per set. She also led the team in service aces (18) and points (478.5). Additionally, Willis was third on the squad with 283 digs (2.44 per set) and 62 total blocks (0.53 per set).

In her final season with the Pirates, Willis led East Carolina with 14 double-doubles and 24 double-digit kill performances. As a senior, she led ECU in kills in 28-of-32 matches and notched a season-best 22 kills versus Louisiana Tech. She tallied a career-high 20 digs in a non-conference match at Campbell and tied her career-high with six total blocks versus Charlotte.

Willis concluded her ECU career with 747 kills (3.70 per set), 511 digs (2.53 per set), and 848.5 points (4.20 per set).

Below is a complete list of the 2013 Conference USA Volleyball Postseason Award Winners:

All-Conference First Team
Laura Der, Sr., OH, Marshall
Tyler Richardson, R-So., MB, Middle Tennessee
Carnae Dillard, So., OH, North Texas
Cori Martone, Sr., MB, Tulane
Tea Juric, Fr., OH, Tulane
Mel Mandelbaum, Sr., S, Tulane
Kellie Culbertson, Sr., OH, Tulsa
Sam Skinner, So., OH, UAB
Xitlali Herrera, Sr., MB, UTEP
McKenzie Adams, Sr., OH, UTSA
Dajana Boskovic, Fr., OH, UTSA



All-Conference Second Team
Amanda Videmsek, Sr., MB, Charlotte
Nicole Willis, Sr., OPP, East Carolina
Sacha Byous-McConnell, Sr., MB, Marshall
Sammie Bane, Jr., S, Marshall
Karissa Flack, Sr., MB, North Texas
Sara Blasier, R-Fr., S, Rice
Quinci Hayward, So., OH, Southern Miss
Brooke Berryhill, Fr., L, Tulsa
Becca Howard, Sr., S, UAB
Rachel Fairbanks, Sr., L, UAB
Sara Rishell, Jr., MB, UAB

All-Freshman Team
Jale Hervey, Middle Tennessee
Amy Henard, North Texas
Sara Blasier, Rice
Tea Juric, Tulane
Brooke Berryhill, Tulsa
Erica Bohannon, Tulsa
Dajana Boskovic, UTSA